Pistol Whippin' Ike is more than just a rock and roll band; it’s a sound with attitude, a feeling of raw energy and a full throttle all out assault on the senses.

Spring of 2000 ushered in the genesis of Pistol Whippin' Ike. The band went straight to work writing lyrics and creating music that captured the essence of Pistol Whippin' Ike’s desired sound, all the while searching for the perfect front man. Several months and numerous auditions later, the group found the singer that made the band complete. In late 2000, Pistol Whippin' Ike played their first live performance to an audience of wildly enthusiastic people that immediately became fans. Soon the band was invited to headline the Harder Beat Magazine Showcase; Pistol Whippin' Ike stole the show with a knockout performance that left the crowd amazed, and demanding more.

Impressed with the bands distinctive sound, The Gravity Games included three of Pistol Whippin' Ike’s songs on The Complete 2003 Gravity Games home video/DVD collection and matching compilation CD. The band also quickly received an endorsement from Carvin Corporation, makers of world-class guitars and amplifiers. Pistol Whippin' Ike was later asked to headline a showcase in the Dallas Music Fest, where they dominated and were voted Best Hard Rock Artist.

Pistol Whippin' Ike began working with the prestigious music marketing and management firm Ardsley & Bay. Soon after, Ardsley & Bay arranged for the band to record its next album with Multi-platinum Producer, David Prater. That album, entitled ".44 Caliber Confessions", was released to rave reviews and in front of a rabid crowd of hundreds of fans in Dallas.

Pistol Whippin' Ike toured the region intensely, now building large fan bases not only in the Dallas/Ft. Worth/North-Texas area, but all through the southwest, including the cities of Houston, San Antonio, Austin, Oklahoma City, and many more in-between. With their growing reputation they were quickly noticed as a complete package band, and picked up for support performances for national touring bands such as Sevendust, Fireball Ministry, The X’s, L.A. Guns, Skindred, Artimus Pyledriver, Drowning Pool, Vains of Jenna, and others. Concurrently, the song “Tell Me” from .44 Caliber Confessions was received well by regional radio and an accompanying video was produced and was played extensively on various music video outlets.

This momentum carried Pistol Whippin' Ike even further which led to multiple songs being used on soundtracks, backing tracks and compilation CDs including a Girls Gone Wild/Ultimate Jell-O-Wresting Sound Track. Pistol Whippin' Ike continued to write and record new material again produced by David Prater. This CD (“Welcome to Our Revolution”) was sold extensively throughout the region as Pistol Whippin' Ike provided support for many touring national artists.

With the precise and pounding rhythms of Jeff Hathcock on drums and Barry Townsend on bass, the dramatic guitar work of Barry Lorberbaum and Jason Rutledge and the melodic, compelling vocals of Mario Cadena, this has propelled Pistol Whippin' Ike into a premier independent artist.

To this day the bands unique sound and powerful live performances continue to captivate audiences everywhere and when fans are asked to describe a Pistol Whippin' Ike show, the response is always the same: NOBODY WHIPS YOU LIKE IKE!

Pistol Whippin' Ike is:
Mario Cadena – Vocals
Barry Lorberbaum – Guitar
Jason Rutledge – Guitar
Barry Townsend – Bass Guitar
Jeff Hathcock – Drums

  • reverbnation
  • itunes
  • soundcloud
  • myspace
  • youtube
  • twitter